|Cindy Beteag||City Recorder||(435) 635-2811 x 106
A valid Hurricane City business license is required for all businesses that are located within the Hurricane City limits. A business license is the means whereby Hurricane City grants permission to engage in a business activity at a specific location within the City. The definition of business includes all kinds of vocations, occupations, professions, enterprises, establishments and all other kinds of activities and matters, whether full time or part time, together with all devices, machines, vehicles and appurtenances related thereto, any of which are conducted for private profit or benefit. A seperate license shall be required for each type of business and for each place of business located within Hurricane City.
What is the purpose of a Business License?
The purpose of a business license is to regulate and license businesses within the corporate limits of Hurricane City; to determine if businesses are operating within applicable laws and ordinances; to maintain a safe environment for the general public; and to assure that zoning, building, and fire codes are enforced.
Obtaining a business license in Hurricane City begins by submitting a Business License Application. This application and any applicable fees must be submitted in person to the Planning and Zoning Department at 147 N 870 West. The applications are listed below.
Residential Hosting or Bed and Breakfast Application You can find the ordinance here.
Background release form (required for massage therapy, any business related to firearms, any business dealing minor children, or entry into a private residence)
For seasonal and other temporary uses (fireworks, Christmas tree lot, etc) a Temporary Use Permit must also be obtained.
Vacation Rentals located in a single family area are limited and they have a distance requirement between them. The total number of vacation rental licenses allowed under the ordinance in single family zones have been issued. We are still accepting applications to go on a wait list.
Vacation Rentals located in a Recreational Resort area are a permitted use but still require a license. The following areas are approved Recreation Resort areas:
If you have a complaint on a Hurricane City business, please fill out this form and return to the City office or email to firstname.lastname@example.org
|Business License||$ 50.00|
|Vacation Rental License||$ 300.00|
|Beer License||$ 300.00|
|Solicitor License||$ 180 .00|
|Transient Merchant||$ 50.00/day or $150.00 for 8 consecutive days|
|Application Fee||$ 25.00|
|Late Fee||$ 20.00 30 days past the due date|
|Who needs to register their business?|
|All businesses in Utah are required by law to register with the Utah Department of Commerce either as a “DBA” (Doing Business As), corporation, limited liability company or limited partnership. In addition, certain types of businesses need special licenses and permits in order to operate, i.e., insurance agents, contractors, doctors and dry cleaners, etc. Businesses are also required to obtain a business license from the city or county in which they are located.|
|Why are businesses required to register?|
|Registration insures that the business name cannot be legally used by another business. The more you use the registered name and become known to the public by name, the more legal protection your name earns against "predatory encroachment" by other businesses. Registration is required so that a comprehensive state registry of all business and corporate information is available for public reference. This information is vital to an orderly legal system and marketplace. Without it, the public or other businesses may have no way of knowing the persons with whom they are doing business. In addition, registration is required by law to provide public notice as to who owns or stands behind a business entity. You cannot file a lawsuit in court as a business if your business is not registered. Registration enables careful business people to verify information about companies with whom they do business.|
|How can I register my business name?|
|You can register a business name through Utah’s OneStop Online Business Registration Website or Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code 160 East 300 South, 2nd Floor Salt Lake City, Utah 84145-0801 (801) 530-4849.|
|How do I get a sales tax number?|
|You can apply online through Utah's OneStop Online Business Registration Website or Utah State Tax Commission 100 S. 5300 West Hurricane, UT 84737 (435) 251-9529.|
|Where do I get a business license application?|
|You can obtain applications at the Hurricane Business License department which is located at the City office building at 147 N. 870 West in the Planning and Zoning department or you may download the forms. Office hours are Monday through Thursday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Friday 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. For more information call (435) 635-2811 x 112.|
|Can I operate a business from my home?|
|If your business meets the conditions outlined in Title 10-Chapter 42, it could be approved. The application process, requirements, and expiration are the same as commercial business licenses.|
|When does the license expire?|
|All commercial and home based business licenses expire 365 days from the date of approval.|
|How do I renew my license?|
|Renewal notices for the following year are mailed by the business license office forty five (45) days prior to expiration. Payments are due on or before forty five (45) days after the expiration date.|
|What are the penalties if the payment is late?|
|Delinquent licenses are assessed a $20.00 late penalty after thirty (30) days past the due date.|
|What if my business changes locations within the City Limits of Hurricane?|
|Business licenses are issued for a specific business address. Changes in address require an application for the new location. There is a $25.00 processing fee which should be submitted with the application.|
|What if my business closes or moves out of Hurricane?|
|If your business status changes, please notify the business license department using one of the following methods: Email the business name, license number, address and date of closure to email@example.com. Complete the “Business Closure” section on the business license renewal form and return it to the Business License department. Send a letter which includes the business name, license number, address and date of closure to: City of Hurricane Attn: Business Licensing 147 N. 870 West Hurricane, UT 84737.|
|Are licenses transferable?|
|A business license cannot be transferred from one person or business to another. A new license must be applied for when a change of ownership of the business takes place.|
|Will I need a background check?|
|Background checks are required for the following businesses: massage therapy, firearm related, any business dealing with minor children or entry to a private residence.|